Ireland’s Patron Saints

The Feast Day of Saint Patrick (pictured left), The Principal Patron of Ireland, is celebrated throughout the world on the 17th March.

The other Principal Patrons of Ireland are: Saint Brigid and Saint Colum Cille, an Abbot from Donegal who sailed from Derry for Iona in 563. He became known as the ‘Apostle of the Picts’ and was buried at Iona.

4 Provinces; 32 Counties:

Ireland has 4 Provinces and 32 Counties:

Connaught (Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo);

Munster (Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford);

Ulster (Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Monaghan, Tyrone)

Leinster (Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, West Meath, Wexford, Wicklow).

Gaelic Athletics

The GAA (Cumann Luthchleas Gael), which originated in Thurles (Co Tipperary), is the governing body for Gaelic Athletics (Football, Hurling, Handball, Rounders and Camogie).

The National Stadium is Croke Park, Dublin, named after Archbishop Croke of Cashel, 1st patron.